1. Sornchai Looareesuwan Medal 2018

Prof. Sornchai was the Dean of the Faculty of Tropical Medicine, Mahidol University, Thailand, and Secretary General and Director of the SEAMEO Regional Tropical Medicine & Public Health Network. Throughout his life, he dedicated himself to the world of research, working on malarial clinical drug trials for over 30 years. He was the recipient of a host of international research awards. Prof. Sornchai made significant advances in the field of malaria, particularly in drug development, with his original work on artemisinin combination therapy. His work is a remarkable accomplishment that few can hope to emulate.

In the same spirit, the “Sornchai Looareesuwan Medal” will be offered to a researcher whose efforts have been devoted specifically to malaria. His/her work should constitute a breakthrough or an innovation in malaria research.

Award candidates are required to be nominated by an affiliated organization/parent institution. The recipient will be a keynote speaker at the Meeting’s Closing Ceremony on 14 December 2018.


2. Young Investigator Award

A ‘Young Investigator Presentation’ Award will be presented at this year’s Meeting. Eligible applicants must be current Master’s or Ph.D. students, or recent graduates (degree received in either 2017 or 2018). The top 5 abstracts will be selected for oral presentation on the basis of scientific merit.

Terms of Award:        

  • Certificate of Recognition
  • 5,000 Baht (1st Prize only)
  • Registration fee waived for all presenters


3. Best Poster Presentation Award

The Poster Presentation Award is given for the best Turbo Talk or poster presentation. The JITMM Scientific Committee will score each poster according to the following criteria:

  • Knowledge (information contained in the poster) 30%
  • Communication (comprehensibility and ease of understanding) 30%
  • Design (layout/graphics/appearance) 20%
  • Presentation (based on the oral description by the presenter) 20%

Terms of Award:

  • Certificate of Recognition
  • 3,000 Baht (1st Prize)
  • 2,000 Baht (2nd Prize)
  • 1,000 Baht (3rd Prize)